Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

ISO 45001:2018 has replaced OHSAS 18001.Click here for the new 45001 website.

Self Declaration of OHSAS 18001 Compliance

OHSAS 18001 Certification has many advantages and we recommend that companies become certified through third party certification bodies (CB’s, or Registrars) like ISO 9001, ISO 14001 etc.

However, there are three types of conformance:

  1. Internal efforts to create an OHSMS that meets OHSAS 18001
  2. Self-declaration of conformance
  3. Third party verified registration

One important difference between OHSAS 18001, ISO 14001 and other international standards is that an organization can self-declare their compliance. Because ISO 14001 and OHSAS 18001 are very similar, the management systems can be effectively combined, integrated and self-declared (a cost savings option where there are no registration fees.)

Like the ISO 14001, self-declaration is an option unique to this OHSAS 18001:2007 standard, and thus organizations can simply use the standard as a guideline. Although entities can self declare conformance to OHSAS 18001, this only means that they conform to a prescribed system, not to prescribed health and safety technologies, safety levels, etc. Keep in mind that OHSAS 18001 does not replace existing health and safety regulations but certified companies are typically more quickly alerted to health and safety issues.

The decision of what degree of certification to achieve is a business decision. But there is several marketing, financial and trade advantages realized with certification. It may influence decisions and/or change opinions of customers, insurers, and non-certification may limit trade.